It is mostly visited by picnickers because of its picturesque manmade lake surrounded by large oak trees. The original picnic shelter was built in 1917 and is still in use today!
The entrance to the lake is marked with two large oak trees these were planted for the visit of the Duke and Duchess of York (later to be crowned King George V and Queen Mary) in 1901.
The Tinwald domain is 4 hectares of open space suitable for cycling and rugby, there is also a small children's playground and caravan park facilities.
Other attractions at the Tinwald Domain include the Plains Historical and Vintage Railway, the Lynn Woodworking Museum, the Vintage Car Club, tennis courts, outdoor swimming pool, cycle challenge track and miniature railway.